Cavallos Market

The Business Of Your Life.

World News

World Superbikes: Razgatlioglu wins French opener to maneuver into sequence lead from Rea

Toprak Razgatlioglu has received seven World Superbike races this season

Toprak Razgatlioglu moved forward of Jonathan Rea on the prime of the World Superbike standings by profitable race one of many weekend at Magny-Cours.

The Turkish rider was concerned in an exciting battle with the six-time champion within the early laps however pulled away to win the race by 5.5 seconds.

The riders had been tied on factors earlier than the French spherical however Razgatlioglu now enjoys a five-point benefit.

Italy’s Andrea Locatelli was third, nearly six seconds in arrears of Rea.

Kawasaki rider Rea went into Race One in assured temper having secured pole place for a file eighth time in a row due to a brand new lap file.

Razgatlioglu led into Flip One on the opening circuit of 21 however Rea quickly hit the entrance, earlier than the Yamaha rider regained the lead with a no-holds barred overtaking transfer on lap 4.

The Pata Yamaha rider was by no means headed thereafter, and though Rea stayed in contact for a interval, Razgatlioglu prolonged his benefit till the chequered flag to file his seventh race victory of the season.

Rea, who was a double winner at Magny-Cours final 12 months to take his total tally of successes on the course to eight, will hope to go one higher in Sunday’s Superpole race and second characteristic occasion.

The circuit holds nice recollections for the Northern Irishman as he wrapped up three of his six world titles so far on the French venue – in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi, Michael van der Mark and Alvaro Bautista made up the highest six on Saturday, whereas Scott Redding, third within the championship, crashed however recovered to take twelfth spot.

Rea’s Kawasaki team-mate, England’s Alex Lowes, crashed out whereas holding third place.

Toprak Razgatlioglu (Tur) Kawasaki 336
Jonathan Rea (GB) Yamaha 331
Scott Redding (GB) Ducati 277
Alex Lowes (GB) Kawasaki 169
Andrea Locatelli (Ita) Yamaha 167
Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Ita) Ducati 163
Tom Sykes (GB) BMW 153